The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 02775
Date: [5 March 1878][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Frances Kate Howell[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 11/45/1
Document Type: ALS[3]

'5. March. 1878.'

96. Cheyne Walk - Chelsea -

Dear Mrs Howell -

I enclose copy of my letter to Blott[4] so that Howell may see it directly he returns -

Pray see that he carries out your promise to come down at once to me -

Ever sincerely Yours

J A McN. Whistler -

[butterfly signature]

Your letter[5] of Friday has never been delivered here - it must have been lost in the post -

This document is protected by copyright.


Mrs Howell -
Chaldon House -
Fulham -
[postmark:] LONDON - S. W / 7 / MR 5 / 78


1.  5 March 1878
The date was added by Charles Augustus ('Owl') Howell (1840? - d.1890), entrepreneur [more], and is confirmed by the postmark.

2.  Frances Kate Howell
Frances Kate ('Kitty') Howell (1842 or 1843-1888), née Howell, cousin and wife of C. A. Howell [more].

3.  ALS
The letter was stuck in the first of two albums of documents by Howell (see #02788). Howell also added the date at the top of the letter.

4.  letter to Blott
This was probably JW's letter of 5 March 1878, blaming Howell for problems over one of JW's cheques given by Howell to Jonathon Blott (b. ca 1847), oil and colourman [more] (#00309).

5.  your letter
Not located.