The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 02650
Date: [9 April 1903][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: William Hicok Low[2]
Place: [New York]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler L184
Document Type: ALd


Dear Mr Low -

I have just learned with distress, that my canvases have been a trouble & a cause of thought to the gentlemen of the Hanging Committee! -

Pray present to them my compliments and my deep regrets -

I fear also that this is not the first time of simple & good natured intrusion - "looking in" as who should say, with kindly beaming fellowship, and crass Cameraderie [sic] upon the highly finished table and well seated guests - to their gener great disturbance & terror to find place to be hurriedly kindly shuffled into some further make shift place - that hospitality may continue endure - "C'est bien fait! fallait pas[4]["] ....


Promise then - for me, that I have learned - & that this "shall not occur again" - and above all do not allow inexcusable blunder of mine to really interfere with or disturb the peace and goodwill so pleasantly associated with this Society -

I could not be other than much affected by your warm and immediate demonstration - but I should never forgive myself were the cons[e]quences of lasting gravity - vexation to among distinguished Confrères

do not allow matters of momentary importance only to distinguished confrères en Villiagiture[5] to

& above all never allow matters of colossal importance to really interfere with the routine of joy and habit of peace & goodwill so pleasantly associated with this Society

pre paid saturday as Your letter April 3[6] requested payment per return promising machine when shall I recieve [sic] machine promised per return.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [9 April 1903]
A copy of the final letter is so dated, #02651.

2.  William Hicok Low
Will Hicok Low (1853-1932), mural painter, designer and illustrator, and secretary of the Society of American Art [more].

3.  1903.
Written in pencil, possibly in the hand of Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

4.  C'est bien fait! fallait pas
Fr., It is well done! There was no need.

5.  en Villéagiture
Fr., on holiday.

6.  letter April 3
Not located; this is the draft of a letter to an unknown tradesman, and is unrelated to the draft above.