The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 02583
Date: [7/14 July 1877][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Frederick Richards Leyland [2]
Place: [London?]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler L119
Document Type: ALd[3]

Dear Leyland -

Surely From what Freddie[4] tells me I find that I am made a means of [illegible word] to mortification notwithstanding the carefully considerate answer I sent to your grossly offensive letter[5] I am still made a means of outrage and pain to his Mother and Sisters[6] (the ladies of the family)

Is it not then possible for you to assert your quarrel with me and still remain and as is the custom among Gentlemen leave the ladies out -

You had much better see me -[7]

[p. 2] Dear Leyland

I really cannot be made the means of vexation and out [...]

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [7/14 July 1877]
This draft letter probably dates from shortly after F. R. Leyland's letter of 6 July 1877, in which he told JW not to meet his wife (#02581), and certainly before Leyland's letter of 17 July (#02607).

2.  Frederick Richards Leyland
Frederick Richards Leyland (1832-1892), ship-owner and art collector [more]. The quarrel arose partly over money but escalated when JW invited the press to visit Leyland's house and view his completed decoration of Harmony in Blue and Gold: The Peacock Room (YMSM 178).

3.  ALd
Pencil draft, much corrected.

4.  Freddie
Frederick Dawson Leyland (b. 1856), son of F. R. Leyland [more].

5.  letter
See Leyland's letter to Whistler, 6 July 1877 (#02581), and Whistler's reply, [7 July 1877] (#02582).

6.  Mother and Sisters
Frances Leyland (1836-1910), née Dawson [more], Fanny Leyland (1857-1880), later Mrs Stevenson-Hamilton [more], Florence Leyland (1859-1921), later Mrs Prinsep [more], and Elinor Leyland (1861-1952), later Mrs Speed [more].

7.  You had much better see me -
Added in right hand margin.