UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 02552
Date: [2 March 1891][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Elisabeth Lewis[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler L87
Document Type: AW/Ld[3]


21, CHEYNE WALK,
CHELSEA.

My dear [Mrs George?][4]

Kindly give orders to Mons Carlyle to

A Forgive abrupt telegram - Am sending for Carlyle[5] today - for Glasgow Council coming up -

Whistler -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [2 March 1891]
Dated by reference to Glasgow Council; J. W. Paton on 2 March 1891 told JW of their impending visit (#01672).

2.  Elisabeth Lewis
Probably to Elisabeth Lewis (1844-1931), née Eberstadt, wife of G. H. Lewis [more], although the salutation is barely legible.

3.  AW/Ld
Draft for a telegram. The main text is written at right-angles to the printed address.

4.  My dear [Mrs George?]
This may be the start of a letter to Elisabeth Lewis (1844-1931), née Eberstadt, wife of G. H. Lewis [more]. If so it was immediately abandoned, and the drafts of two different letters, the last to G. H. Lewis, were written at right angles to the address and original first line.

5.  Carlyle
Arrangement in Grey and Black, No. 2: Portrait of Thomas Carlyle (YMSM 137). The picture was with the dealers Henry Graves & Co., where it had been lodged as security on loans. In January 1891, Edward Arthur Walton (1860-1922), painter [more], set about raising a petition to persuade the Corporation of the City of Glasgow to acquire the painting for its collections. Having been cleaned and varnished, it was deposited with the Lewises for a short time before it was purchased by the Corporation at the end of March. See also JW to E. Lewis, #02527 and to G. H. Lewis, #02550; E. Lewis to JW, #02526; receipt, H. Graves to G. Lewis, #02549.