The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 02539
Date: [14 September 1888][1]
Author: JW
Place: Tours
Recipient: George Henry Lewis[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler L74
Document Type: ALS


My dear George -

One little moment I crave of your precious time, that you may see that this great painter goes his victorious course, with the security that is not always one of the qualifications of his triumphant career! - That however troubles him but little - he considers that your affair!

I enclose a letter from [p. 2] Mrs Bacon Ford[4] - You will see that she makes much of my absence, and keeps saying that you will do nothing without me -

This is her point -

Now cannot you see the Fords and entertain their business proposals, so that you may be enabled to say to them that you have looked seriously into it all, and cannot advise your client to accept their terms, as you consider it would be more advantageous to him to bind himself to nothing - as it is clear to you that Whistler requires no "running" - and need give no exhorbitant [sic] percentage to any one -

This of course unless they really have something astonishing to offer - in which case you will tell me -

Deal with them soundly and take entirely upon yourself, the care and management of the affairs of your child like and enthusiastic Artist client and friend -

[p. 3] But do all that you think right my dear George and you will as usual delight

[Yours?] Ever

[butterfly signature]

Do write me a letter now -

Chez Mons. Leymarie[5]
14. Rue de la Scellerie
Tours -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [14 September 1888]
Dated from address and from JW to M. B. Ford, #01443. JW was in France on a working honeymoon, after his marriage to Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more] on 11 August. He appears to have stayed with Leymarie from mid September.

2.  George Henry Lewis
Sir George Henry Lewis (1833-1911), society lawyer [more].

3.  Private
Double underlined.

4.  Bacon Ford
Mary Bacon Ford, née Martin, art agent [more] who had recently married Sheridan Ford (1860-1922), poet, critic, politician and writer on art [more]. Mary Ford's letter is #01443 and dated 14 September. The Fords hoped to become JW's art agent in America. Their proposal focussed on a series of etchings to be entitled 'Whistler's American Etchings'. However, as JW soon found out, it placed principal control over his affairs with the Fords and a syndicate of New York investors (see M. B. Ford to JW, #01448, letter dated 27 September 1888). See also JW's correspondence with the Fords during this period (see #01449; #01451; #01449).

5.  Mons. Leymarie
Leymarie, unidentified.