The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 02527
Date: [13 February 1891][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Elisabeth Lewis[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler L62
Document Type: ALdS[3]

Dear Mrs George -

How very very kind of you to have written me this nice little letter! I kn

We are both[4] so glad to see your hand again - after George[5] all your sad trouble - George has I am sure told given you the messages of our sorrow for you - though we did not feel like wearying you with writing at such a time -

My own friendship with your brother[6] made me know how great has been was your grief -

The picture will come to you in a day or two - directly the varnish is completely dry -

[p. 2] I am much delighted that should you are pleased to receive the visitor at all - even though it be and hope he will have improved on acquaintance - He is a favorite of mine - and I like the gentle sadness about him! - and doubt if were [he?] were not also sensitive perhaps he was even sensitive - and even misunderstood - who knows! - such things have been I am told -

Some day you shall let us come and see you and we will look at the picture[7] together -

With affectionate regards from us both[8],
Always dear Mrs George

J M Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [13 February 1891]
This was written shortly after a letter from JW to G. H. Lewis, 29 January 1891, #02550; and is a draft of #10978.

2.  Elisabeth Lewis
Elisabeth Lewis (1844-1931), née Eberstadt, wife of G. H. Lewis [more].

3.  ALdS
This is a draft of a letter dated 13 February 1891, #10978.

4.  both
JW and Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

5.  George
Sir George Henry Lewis (1833-1911), society lawyer [more].

6.  brother
Maximilian Eberstadt (1844-1891), brother of Elisabeth Lewis.

7.  picture
Probably Arrangement in Grey and Black, No. 2: Portrait of Thomas Carlyle (YMSM 137). JW had just retrieved the picture from the dealers Henry Graves & Co. where it had been lodged as security on loans. In January 1891, Edward Arthur Walton (1860-1922), painter [more], set about raising a petition to encourage the Corporation of the City of Glasgow to purchase the painting for its collections. Having been cleaned and varnished, it was deposited with the Lewises for a short time before it was purchased by the Corporation at the end of March. See also E. Lewis to JW, #02526; JW to G. Lewis, #02549.

8.  both
JW and Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].