UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 02526
Date: 16 February [1891][1]
Author: Elisabeth Lewis[2]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler L61
Document Type: ALS


Febr. 16th

88, PORTLAND PLACE,
W.

Dear Mr Whistler,

The picture[3] has come & fits into its place. It is too beautiful & a great joy to behold. It will always be a precious recollection to me to have lived with it if only for a while.

Yours most truly

Betty Lewis.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  16 February [1891]
This is a reply to a letter dated 13 February 1891 (#10978). Dated from reference to YMSM 137 (see note below).

2.  Elisabeth Lewis
Elisabeth Lewis (1844-1931), née Eberstadt, wife of G. H. Lewis [more]. Her letter has a deep mourning border, since, as JW's letter makes clear, her brother had recently died.

3.  picture
Arrangement in Grey and Black, No. 2: Portrait of Thomas Carlyle (YMSM 137). JW had just retrieved the picture from the dealers Henry Graves & Co. where it had been lodged as security on loans. In January 1891, Edward Arthur Walton (1860-1922), painter [more], set about raising a petition to persuade the Corporation of the City of Glasgow to purchase the painting for its collections. Having been cleaned and varnished, it was deposited with the Lewises for a short time before it was purchased by the Corporation at the end of March. See also JW to E. Lewis, #02527; JW to G. Lewis, #02549, #02550.