UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 02243
Date: 1 February 1873
Author: Louis Huth[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler H339
Document Type: ALS


TOKENHOUSE YARD,
LONDON, E. C.

1 feby 1873

Dear Mr Whistler,

The price you name for the "Variations in Pink & Grey"[2] is what I understood it to be, so that's all right.

That for Mrs Huth's portrait[3] is also what I contemplated it would be, and I gladly accept your offer as regards the other two pictures[4] [p. 2] to allow me to postpone my final decision in regard to them until they are further advanced.

I am very curious to see Mr Leyland's portrait[5]

Yours very truly

Louis Huth

'Mr Huths[6] letter to J M Whistler Janry 1873.'

'Huth[7]. re price for picture'


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Louis Huth
Louis Huth (1821-1905), collector [more]. This is a reply to JW's letter of 31 January (see #02242).

2.  Variations in Pink & Grey
Variations in Pink and Grey: Chelsea (YMSM 105).

3.  Mrs Huth's portrait
Arrangement in Black, No. 2: Portrait of Mrs Louis Huth (YMSM 125).

4.  two pictures
Probably Venus Rising from the Sea (YMSM 93) and Symphony in White, No. 3 (YMSM 61) (see #02242).

5.  Mr Leyland's portrait
Arrangement in Black: Portrait of F. R. Leyland (YMSM 97).

6.  Mr Huths
'Mr Huths ... Janry 1873' written in an unknown hand, at right angles to the main text, below the letter.

7.  Huth
'Huth ... picture' written in hand of Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more]. She sorted JW's affairs after their marriage in 1888.