UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 02229
Date: 9 April [1888][1]
Author: William Henry Hurlbert[2]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler H325a
Document Type: ALS[3]


9. April.

TRAVELLERS' CLUB,
PALL MALL,
S. W.

My dear Praeses[4]!

I have just come in after many days, consumed in bringing Mme[5] over from Paris & in house hunting - & lo! Your note!

I return the H M & Co[6] [p. 2] letter & advise you by all means to close with them. They are very decent people.

But how are you? That concerns me most. Pray send me word at once at No. 16 Half-Moon St, our temporary perch.

Si vales valeo[7],

W H H


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  9 April [1888]
Year date from references to Houghton & Mifflin (see note below) and exhibitions.

2.  William Henry Hurlbert
William Henry Hurlbert (1827-1895), journalist and author, editor-in-chief of the New York World from 1876-1883 [more].

3.  ALS
A letter draft in JW's hand appears on the reverse side of the sheet; see #13571.

4.  Praeses
Lat., president.

5.  Mme
Presumably a reference to Katherine P. Hurlbert (m. 1884), née Tracy, wife of W. H. Hurlbert [more]. The Hurlberts moved to 12 Southwell Gardens, Cromwell Road, S.W. in 1888.

6.  H M & Co
Houghton & Mifflin, Boston publishing firm who published the first American edition of JW's 'Ten O'Clock Lecture,' Whistler, James McNeill, Mr. Whistler's 'Ten O'Clock.', Boston and New York, 1888.

7.  Si vales valeo
Lat., if you are well, I am well.