The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 02218
Date: [17 August 1887][1]
Author: William Henry Hurlbert[2]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler H314
Document Type: ALS

Wednesday A M

S. W.

Dear Mr Whistler -

As to the Etchings for Her Majesty[3], our friend is of the opinion that it would be necessary to submit them to her by mail to Balmoral which would knock them to pieces - He thinks they had better be prepared & held ready & he will take charge of them & see them properly put into her royal hands the first time she comes up [p. 2] within range or he goes down to stay at B. Nothing could be more kind or considerate.

He was delighted at the idea of your present[4] to him. So let it go on as fast as you can. I have another appointment with him at 12 tomorrow, when he may know something about the best way of sending the Memorial to the [Show?] at the Palace

I shall be at this Club at 6 @ 7 P M tonight. If You don't go to Belgium[5] tonight - why not call here about 7.30 & let us dine together somewhere - If you do go let me know



This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [17 August 1887]
Dated by sequence of letters on the Royal Society of British Artists, and the almanac: 17 August 1887 was a Wednesday.

2.  William Henry Hurlbert
William Henry Hurlbert (1827-1895), journalist and author, editor-in-chief of the New York World from 1876-1883 [more].

3.  Etchings for Her Majesty
'Naval Review set', 1887 (K. 316-331) (excat 7), a set of which was presented to Victoria (1819-1901), Queen of Great Britain [more].

4.  your present
Probably a second album of the same etchings; see his letter thanking JW for a 'royal album' (#02219).

5.  go to Belgium ... W H H
The remainder of the text is in the left margin of p. 1. JW went to Belgium with William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more], and his wife, Nellie.