UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 02183
Date: 22 February 1878
Author: Charles Augustus Howell[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler H280
Document Type: MsLc[2]


Copy

Chaldon House - Fulham - S W.

22. Feby. 1878.

My dear Whistler -

I wish you to have in writing this fact - Your cheque for £110 - held by Mr Blott[3] I hold myself entirely responsible for. - I gave it to Mr Blott in settlement of an account of mine - You have not received one penny upon it, - the arrangement being that I could renew it with Mr Blott by paying the necessary interest. - I undertake that you shall incur no annoyance whatever, and promise to find the money when needed, as I did on the occasion of getting the cheque -

Ever Yours.

Charles. A. Howell -

J A McN. Whistler. Esq.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Charles Augustus Howell
Charles Augustus ('Owl') Howell (1840? - d.1890), entrepreneur [more].

2.  MsLcS
This letter was copied entirely by JW and bears his signature. This was the first of a series of letters about some financial arrangements between JW, Howell and Blott, dating from February to June 1878 (#10340, #00309, #09002, #11161, #00310, #10055, #09255 and #07619). It was almonst certainly the 'copy' sent with JW's letter to Blott on 5 March 1878 (#00309) and may have been written with Howell's connivance, to postpone the threat of legal injunctions (see #09255).

3.  Mr Blott
Jonathon Blott (b. ca 1847), oil and colourman [more].