UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 01992
Date: [6/13 May 1892][1]
Author: Charles James Whistler Hanson[2]
Place: [London]
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler H93
Document Type: ALdS[3]


Dear Mr Whistler,

I received your letter [thank?] this morning I received Thank you very much for your letter and cheque for four pounds.

The cheque you sent me I shall keep for four weeks - My bill at Kings Coll[4] (1- 14- 0) as I [met?] in my last letter I shall remind you of next time I write[5].

I hope to see Mr Singleton[6] on Sunday when I shall give him your message. I believe he is in a very bad fix for the want of money.

I am going to Kings College to try to obtain from Kings College what you desire a report with regard to myself and if I can get one I shall forward it immediately to you. I hope there wont be any difficulty with regard to this though I have never heard of any student getting an official report. - but that does not prove that they do not But I should think they ought to be sent out

Capt McEvoy[7] begs to be remembered to you

Hoping that you and Mrs W.[8] & yourself are quite well.

I am
Faithfully


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [6/13 May 1892]
This is a draft reply to JW's letter to C. J. Hanson, [5 May 1892], #01991.

2.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

3.  ALdS
This is a rough draft in pencil; on p. 2 is another draft (#13295).

4.  Kings Coll
Hanson was studying engineering at King's College, London. JW had requested reports of his work in his previous letter (#01991).

5.  write
'The cheque ... write' is written at the top of p. 1, a line indicates where it should be inserted.

6.  Mr Singleton
Charles James Singleton, Jr (1841-1918), accountant [more].

7.  Capt McEvoy
Captain Charles A. McEvoy (b. ca 1836), electrical engineer [more].

8.  Mrs W.
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].