UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 01981
Date: [1-4 September 1889?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Amsterdam?][2]
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[3]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler H82
Document Type: ALS


Sunday

I have just read your letter -

If you look over your past record you will perhaps understand how offensive must seem to me the glib tone in which you write and ask for indulgences that it would be a pleasure to accord to the deserving -

Wednesday[4] -

The paper has come - and no letter - I told you to write every day - a report - What does this mean? - Where is the list of etchings I said you were to send?

What of Mr. Upton[5]? -

Ask Walter Dowdeswell[6] what etchings he returns from the first lot - and when he is sending the cheque for [p. 2] the last lot?

I sent Miss Ethel[7] two pounds for you, out of which you were to pay her back the five shillings you borrowed from her -

J McN. Whistler

[sketch[8] of windows]


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [1-4 September 1889?]
Dated from reference to Upton, see #03549. According to the almanac, 1 September was a Sunday in 1889. This letter may go with an envelope (#01982) dated 4 September.

2.  [Amsterdam?]
See postmark on envelope #01982.

3.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

4.  Wednesday
The rest of the letter was written in pencil.

5.  Mr. Upton
Edward Upton (b. ca 1855), partner in Upton and Britton, Solicitors [more].

6.  Walter Dowdeswell
Walter Dowdeswell (1858-1929), art dealer [more]. JW's sale to Dowdeswell was recorded on 3 August 1889 (#13092). See his letter to JW on 9 September (#00913).

7.  Miss Ethel
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

8.  sketch
Windows (M.1236).