The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 01871
Date: 18 July 1899
Author: James Guthrie[1]
Place: [London]
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler G236
Document Type: ALS

'Guthrie -'[2]

July 18th / .99

[embossed:] WEST HOUSE,

Dear Mr. Whistler

There is much to thank you for. Lavery[3] gave me your letter about my Academy Notice. And I appreciate the truth of your Comments on the matter at large - no less than your kindly estimate [p. 2] of the squib itself.

I know - and well I know - that in this region, commonness spells continuity -

But what is to be said of the far more than kind thoughts that have taken the beautiful shape of your present to me?

Two of my best friends [p. 3] gave me the book[4] - with their names - a few weeks ago - and delighted me -

Judge then what I think of my copy and inscription from your very self.

It will always be a prize here - my 1st prize.

Believe me, dear Mr. Whistler when I thank [p. 4] you - for my thanks are doubly due -

With kindest regards
Yours ever faithfully

James Guthrie.

J. McNeil [sic] Whistler Esqre

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  James Guthrie
James Guthrie (1859-1930), landscape and portrait painter [more].

2.  'Guthrie -'
In pencil, written in the hand of Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  Lavery
John Lavery (1856-1941), painter [more].

4.  book
Probably Whistler, James McNeill, Eden versus Whistler: The Baronet and the Butterfly. A Valentine with a Verdict, Paris and New York, 1899 [GM, A.24].