The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 01807
Date: 10 June 1882
Author: Algernon Graves[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler G173
Document Type: ALS

[Royal coat of arms]


June 10. 1882

Dear Mr Whistler

My father[2] acceeds [sic] to your request, and I herewith deliver the two pictures[3] on the following conditions =

If unsold they are to be delivered to us whenever we send for them.

If sold you are to pay to us at once the whole of the money that you get for them [p. 2] but of that sum all you get over 50£ each = will be put to your credit on account of the payments still to be made by you on account of the purchase of the Carlyle & Mrs Whistler[4] pictures. -

We have put the price low, so as to give you a better chance of selling them but we hope for your own sake you will get [p. 3] good prices for them.

Kindly drop me a line to say you have received the pictures and that you will carry out these conditions

& oblige
Yours faithfully

Algernon Graves

J. McN Whistler Esq

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Algernon Graves
Algernon Graves (1845-1922), of H. Graves and Co., print dealers [more].

2.  My father
Henry Graves (1806-1892), print dealer and founder of H. Graves and Co. [more].

3.  two pictures
These were pictures deposited with Messrs Graves as security on loans (see C. A. Howell to Graves, #02185 and A. Graves to JW, #01797, #01798, #01799). JW had actually deposited a number of his works, including several nocturnes and portraits such as Arrangement in Grey and Black, No. 2: Portrait of Thomas Carlyle (YMSM 137), upon which JW had borrowed £120 (see A. Graves to JW, #01803). JW probably wanted to show them to prospective patrons in his studio (JW to A. Graves, #10774).

4.  Mrs Whistler
Arrangement in Grey and Black: Portrait of the Painter's Mother (YMSM 101).