The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 01802
Date: 17 March 1881
Author: Algernon Graves[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler G168
Document Type: ALS

[royal coat of arms:] HONI SOIT QUI MAL Y PENSE


Mar 17 1881

Dear Mr Whistler

I have managed to get back the three nocturnes[2] as I promised I would do - so we can arrange about them whenever you like - but they must not stand over too long -

My father[3] has been asking me about the cheque for the balance of Carlyle[4] [p. 2] picture as per agreement - so if you will kindly send one at your convenience he will feel obliged

I remain
Yours faithfully

A Graves

J McN Whistler Esq

My father would be willing to receive the 150 on the Mrs Whistler[5] instead of the Carlyle and let that stand over a [p. 3] little if it will be more convenient to you[.] We could then deliver the Mrs Whistler to you at once

A. G

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Algernon Graves
Algernon Graves (1845-1922), of H. Graves and Co., print dealers [more].

2.  three nocturnes
These included Nocturne: Black and Gold - The Fire Wheel (YMSM 169) and Nocturne in Black and Gold: The Falling Rocket (YMSM 170). They were deposited with Graves as security for a loan of £85. This was not repaid for at least a decade, according to Graves' account as sent to JW in December 1888 (#01827; see also A. Graves to JW, #01797).

3.  My father
Henry Graves (1806-1892), print dealer and founder of H. Graves and Co. [more].

4.  Carlyle
Arrangement in Grey and Black, No. 2: Portrait of Thomas Carlyle (YMSM 137). On 30 September 1878, Graves had lent JW £120 using the picture as security. By February 1881, JW owed the firm £300. JW had just paid £50 towards the repurchase of the picture. The balance of £250 was to be paid within one month (see Graves' receipt, #01801).

5.  Mrs Whistler
Arrangement in Grey and Black: Portrait of the Painter's Mother (YMSM 101). On 9 September 1878, it was one of a number of pictures deposited by Charles Augustus ('Owl') Howell (1840? - d.1890), entrepreneur [more], as security on a loan of £100 from Graves (see #01797).