The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 01795
Date: [1869/1873][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: William Grapel[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler G161
Document Type: ALS

2 Lindsey Row
by Old Battersea bridge
Chelsea -


Dear Grapel -

May I change the day and ask you and l'ami Foulogne[3] [sic] to come and dine here with me on Monday or Wednesday next - at 7? - Tuesday and Thursday I am engaged - but I would like you to choose any other day next week if those I name are already taken -

Will you come by about [p. 2] six - and a 'cocktail' will give us an appetite while looking over the sketches[4] and so on in the Studio - I should be much pleased if Mr Creswick[5] will come with you -

You see my dear Grapel that my Mother[6] exerts her influence over me, and Sundays are "difficile" -

Ever Yours sincerely

J. A. McN. Whistler.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [1869/1873]
Dated by the reference to Foulongne, similar to that in another letter from JW to Grapel, #01792.

2.  William Grapel
William Grapel (b. 1822), barrister-at-law and collector [more].

3.  l'ami Foulogne
Alfred-Charles Foulongne or Foulogne (1821-1897), landscape and genre painter [more]. It is possible that JW's friendship with Foulongne dates back to student days, since Foulongne was at the Académie Gleyre shortly before JW. He is referred to in similar terms in #01792.

4.  sketches
JW could be referring to either chalk drawings or oil sketches, such as the unfinished painting, Annabel Lee (YMSM 79) or 'The Six Projects' (YMSM 82-87) (excat 11).

5.  Mr Creswick
Creswick, probably a collector.

6.  mother
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more]. She was a strict observer of the Sabbath.