UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 01620
Date: [7] June 1900[1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: William Richman Farquhar[2]
Place: [Paris ]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler F552
Document Type: MsLc[3]


Copy of letter sent in June. 1900.

My dear Farquhar.

I quite understand now how it is that your my own beautiful epistle has met with no immediate reply! -

And I sympathise too with you in your difficulties in drawing up this terrible ultimatum. Beside which the wicked Kruger's[4] was really quite mild indeed. However I come out of my Kopje[5] and surrender at once! For of course it is all right though and "les dames ont toujours raison[6]", no one has ever doubted that, and so I hasten to enclose the cheque for Mrs Peck[7].

As to compensation though for "trouble" and "expense", I confess I am completely taken by surprise when Mrs Peck assimilates these elements to herself - and I am sure that if we were talking this over as you say, in the little rooms at the Chatham [p. 2][8] (which happily I still have) you would feel with me -

I know of no expense, excepting my own, & this as usual I never dreamt of thinking about, and must still refuse to entertain. That the "trouble" has been mine also, I fancy you will admit, though far from me to make any point of it, especially as it has been so gracefully shared from the beginning by your wife[9].

To us alone then is all consideration due, & for Mrs Farquhar's kind sake as well as for the wor[k] I will not destroy the picture & one of these days later on, an it please her, if ever she bethin[ks] herself to finish it with me, it shall be hers.

Meanwhile I am disappointed that the picture should not find its place in the exhibition[10] I am occupied in preparing.

With kindest regards to you both
Always, my dear Farquhar
Sincerely yours.

J. McN. Whistler.

Garlants Hotel -
Suffolk Street -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [7] June 1900
Dated by the draft of this letter, #10655; Farquhar resplied on 14 June 1900, #01093.

2.  William Richman Farquhar
William Richman Farquhar (m. 1897), husband of Marion Farquhar [more].

3.  MsLc
These pages appear to have been torn from the same exercise book as that to be found at #01094. The pages are numbered '2.' and '3.' They were possibly written by Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

4.  Kruger's
Stephanus Johannes Paulus Kruger (1825-1904), President of the Transvaal from 1883-1902 [more]. JW was rather pro-Boer during the Boer War.

5.  Kopje
Dutch, a hill.

6.  les dames ont toujours raison
Fr., ladies are always right.

7.  Mrs Peck
Annah B. Peck (b. ca 1850), patron [more].

8.  [p. 2]
Labelled '3.' in top corner (p. 1 was labelled '2.').

9.  wife
Marion Peck (b. ca 1872), later Mrs Farquhar [more], who had posed for Portrait of Miss Marion Peck (YMSM 439); it was never finished.

10.  exhibition
No further one-man exhibition was organised during JW's lifetime.