UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 01604
Date: 6 November 1858
Author: H. French[1]
Place: Aix la Chapelle
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler F536
Document Type: ALS


Aix,

Novr 6th / 58

Mr J. A. Wistler [sic]

My dear Sir -

Your favour has just come to hand & I hasten to acknowledge the receipt of its contents (15 Thallers[2]) I believe you have sent more than was my due, which if I recollect aright was 14 ths, leaving a ballance [sic] in your favour of 4 fr - This I hope to have the pleasure to return you when I come to Paris, which [p. 2] if nothing happens to prevent, will be the latter part of this month - I propose to go to Italy to spend three month[s], and as that is the land of Artists, I should be delighted if you could make it convenient to pack up your traps[3] and go along - Please give my regards to your Companion[4] de Voyage - whom I hope to have the pleasure to see again & believe me very truly yours

H. French


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  H. French
H. French, American consul at Aix-la-Chapelle. Aix-la-Chapelle (Aachen) is a German town right at Germany's borders to the Netherlands and Belgium. This letter was stored with an envelope, with a note in another hand, 'Letter from American Consul / at Aix la Chapelle / re. Money - for Jimmies journey through Germany / 1858. / C / French American Consul / Aix la Chapelle'. JW had just returned from a trip through the Rhineland, which resulted in a number of etchings included in Twelve Etchings from Nature, 1858 (the 'French Set', K.9-11, 13-17, 19, 21, 22, 24). (excat 3).

2.  Thallers
A thaler was a German, Swiss or Austrian (in this case probably German) silver coin.

3.  pack up your traps
JW did not join French in Italy, although he may have been contemplating the idea, for Anna Whistler asked him on 1 August 1858 'Jemie dear shall you not spend next winter in Italy?' (#06498).

4.  companion
Ernest Delannoy (d. 1860/1870), art student, JW's travel companion in 1858 [more].