The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 01525
Date: 9 November 1901
Author: Charles Lang Freer[1]
Place: Detroit
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler F457
Document Type: ALS[3]

Detroit. Michigan.

November 9th. 1901.

Dear Miss Philip -

It was very kind indeed to write me so fully at Mr Whistler's request, and I want to thank you most heartily for your goodness -

You will be glad to know that [p. 2] two of the Cowan[4] pictures are to be guarded, in the future, by me -

I wish that some time you would come with Mr. Whistler and see them in their new resting place - They will never again be "on the market."

With kindest regards -

Charles L Freer

This document is protected by copyright.


Miss R. Birnie-Philip
In care of J. McN. Whistler, Esq.
8 Fitzroy Street.
'36 tite street[5]
London. W.
[postmark:] DETROIT, MICH. / NOV 11 / 1 30 PM / 1901
[postmark:] LONDON. W / 11.15.AM / NO 21 / 01 / 66
[postmark on verso:] NEW YORK NY FOR BCH / NOV 12 / 12 - M / 1901
[postmark on verso:] LONDON - S. W / 11 45 AM / NO 21 / 01 / 58


1.  Charles Lang Freer
Charles Lang Freer (1856-1919), industrialist, collector and founder of the Freer Gallery of Art [more].

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. Although this letter was addressed to her in London, she was at that time staying in Paris.

3.  ALS
Merrill, Linda, With Kindest Regards. The Correspondence of Charles Lang Freer and James McNeill Whistler, 1890-1903, Washington and London, 1995, no. 56, pp. 153-54.

4.  Cowan
John James Cowan (1846-1936), paper manufacturer and collector [more]. He had sold The Thames in Ice (YMSM 36) and Rose and Silver: Portrait of Mrs Whibley (M.1415) to Freer; see JW's letter to Cowan, 10 November 1901, #00754.

5.  36 tite street ... chelsea
These lines of the address have been written in another hand.