UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 01523
Date: 20 June 1901
Author: Charles Lang Freer[1]
Place: Capri
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler F455
Document Type: ALS[2]


Villa Castello,
Capri, Italy,

June 20th, 1901.

From the above address you will see my dear Mr. Whistler, that I too am in close communion with the mediterranean; but fortunately, drawn hither in search of beauty and idleness - not health. And then, I have a warm old time friend[3] here, and a few pleasant acquaintances.

There is no chill in the refreshing north winds and the sun is not too warm for plenty of exercise - [p. 2] The flowers and verdure of this interesting island are as wonderful as ever, and and I often think of you and wish that your experience of last winter on Corsica[4] might have been as delightful as mine here during the past three weeks -

Did the cold days mentioned in your last letter continue? Did you remain at Ajaccio long? And did your health improve? I earnestly il hope you got rid of that miserable cold and that you are entirely well now -

Shall you be in Paris the last week of July, hardly I fear, as probably the summer heat will at that time be at [p. 3] its very worst?

Has your exhibition been held? I have watched the newspapers for word concerning it but have learned nothing therefrom.

I intend to remain here until July 1st and then go to Germany for about three weeks after which spend one week in Paris and sail for America from Cherbourg on July 31st -

It would give me much pleasure indeed to see you again, even if for an hour only, and if you will are to be in Paris during the time before mentioned, and will let me know, I will be happy to call upon you - My address will be as at the head of this note until June 30th[.] Thereafter[5], c/o Brown, Shipley & Co. London, who will forward my mail -

With every good wish, I remain, always faithfully yours,

Charles L. Freer.

J. A. McN. Whistler, Esq.
London,


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Charles Lang Freer
Charles Lang Freer (1856-1919), industrialist, collector and founder of the Freer Gallery of Art [more]. JW replied on 10 July 1901, #03193.

2.  ALS
Published by Merrill, Linda, With Kindest Regards. The Correspondence of Charles Lang Freer and James McNeill Whistler, 1890-1903, Washington and London, 1995, no. 48, pp. 143-144.

3.  friend
Freer had bought the villa with Thomas Spencer Jerome (1864-1914), a friend from Detroit, and Consular agent in Capri from 1901. Other friends included Charles Caryl Coleman (1840-1928), artist (see Merrill, op. cit., p. 144).

4.  Corsica
JW convalesced in Ajaccio, Corsica, January - May 1901; the weather was very cold.

5.  Thereafter...London,
The remainder of the text is written in the left margin of page three at right angles to the main text.