UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 01499
Date: 7 November [1881][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Mrs Franks[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler F431
Document Type: ALS


Mr Whistler presents his compliments to Mrs Franks and begs to acknowledge the receipt of her letter -

It is perfectly true that Mrs Cossins[3] was for four years in Mr Whistler's service as Cook & House keeper - with her husband[4] as butler - and an excellent servant he was -

Mrs Cossins was one of the best cooks in London - so very good was her cooking that possibly more indulgence may have been shown to her, than another with her faults would have received - Meanwhile she was [p. 2] good tempered enough - and willing - and honest - if not always strictly sober -

Beyond this Mr Whistler would suggest that Mrs Franks apply to Mrs Cossins' late employers[5] - for it is now two years, or about, since Mrs Cossins was in his service -

13. Tite Street.
Chelsea -

Monday Nov 7 -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  7 November [1881]
According to the almanac, 7 November was a Monday in 1881.

2.  Mrs Franks
Mrs Franks, unidentified [more].

3.  Mrs Cossins
Caroline Cossins (b. ca 1839), JW's cook [more].

4.  husband
Possibly the father of John Cossins, JW's valet [more].

5.  late employers
Joseph Edgar Boehm (1834-1890), sculptor [more]; see J. E. Böehm to JW, #00323.