The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 01446
Date: [17/24 September 1888][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Tours]
Recipient: Mary Bacon Ford[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler F378
Document Type: MsLd[3]

I really dont know, my dear Mrs Ford - exactly what to say - excepting first to explain that we have been away but for the last two or three days - travelli exploring the neighbourhood - and only only got your telegrams and letters[4] on our return.

[p. 2] Now - I have heard - nothing from Lewis[5] about your last proposal but suppose I shall - tomorrow - Now - I do as I told you I am as you know - I told you - I am engaged to Wunderlich[6] for this exhibition, and every thing must stand aside, until that is co[m]pleted for it would be unfair to him - if I where [sic] to throw him over. - which I should have to do if the work was interfered with - now - and I propose to stay here abroad in any way until it is completed and interfered with it would be if I stopped now to come [to?] with - to its destruction if I where [sic] to leave it under an for the long journey to England at present -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [17/24 September 1888]
Dated from references to Lewis and JW's travels in M. B. Ford to JW, #01445, #01447. JW was then newly married and on a working honeymoon in France. He did not return to London until early November.

2.  Mary Bacon Ford
Mary Bacon Ford, née Martin, art agent [more].

3.  MsLd
Written in the hand of Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

4.  telegrams and letters
See M. B. Ford to JW, #01442, #01444, and S. Ford to JW/C. J. W. Hanson, #01453, #01454, #01455.

5.  Lewis
Sir George Henry Lewis (1833-1911), society lawyer [more].

6.  Wunderlich
Hermann Wunderlich (ca 1839 - d.1892), print dealer [more]. See H. Wunderlich to JW, #07164.