The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 01442
Date: 10 September 1888
Author: Mary Bacon Ford[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [France]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler F374
Document Type: ALS

You certainly cut us off in the flower of our negotiation: and left us with a serio-comic contract to account for - in the hands of Mr Lewis[2] - : who plead then & who still pleads that he can do nothing without you and who reiterates that you are erratic until we are ready to do him violence:

Though late - you must accept our very kindest wishes and congratulations [p. 2] upon your marriage[3] - almost as quiet as ours was - and may it be just as happy -

The interregnum may now be considered over may it not - it has been largely caused by our having to await advices from New York - which are now at hand - and by you!

We returned from Scotland Saturday the 8th and called upon Mr Lewis this morning - leaving with him a state document that I blush to acknowledge:

Mr Lewis seems helpless [p. 3] in the face of it: When are you coming back? He said he would communicate with you: does he mean it -

There is much to be done and we are ready for it if you are -

With best regards for Mrs Whistler

Very Faithfully Yours

Mary Bacon Ford

29 Berners St -
Oxford St. W.

Sept 10: 1888:

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Mary Bacon Ford
Mary Bacon Ford, née Martin, art agent [more]. Together with her husband Sheridan Ford (1860-1922), poet, critic, politician and writer on art [more], she hoped to become JW's art agent in America. Their contract focussed on a series of etchings to be entitled 'Whistler's American Etchings'. However, as JW soon found out, it gave principal control over his affairs to the Fords and a syndicate of New York investors (see M. B. Ford to JW, #01448, letter dated 27 September 1888). See also JW's correspondence with the Fords during this period (see #01449; #01443).

2.  Mr Lewis
Sir George Henry Lewis (1833-1911), society lawyer [more].

3.  marriage
JW was in France on a working honeymoon, after his marriage to Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more] on 11 August. The Fords were married in London in c. July 1888.