The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 01172
Date: [17/18 June 1884][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Marcus Bourne Huish[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler F104
Document Type: ALd

Dear Huish

Your Secretary has made out his cheque for twenty pounds instead of 20 gns[3]

Kindly let the pound be sent to me at once - - It is this sort of curious error on the part of the Society that so continually does away with any pleasure I might have in producing beautiful work - things for them -

Surely I might be spared this usual remonstrance with them whenever I engage in any undertaking withfor them -

On my part I carry out all matters largely [p. 2] and loyally[4] with them - and by this time they ought to have learned that to an artist like myself any carefulness [sic] of this kind is too simply horrid -

In this particular case, I put every thing aside - and in the height of the season too - that I might simply carry out my promise to you - and I fancy that the result in the way of quality of work, is not beneath your expectations -

You know well that I am to receive five gns for each dozen proofs - for it was with yourself that this was once for all agreed upon -

Now I send you four dozen and indeed three separate proofs[5] over & above - and in return, by way of marking the Co[mpany']s appreciation of the situation, your clerk is allowed to make this ungracious and foolish blunder

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [17/18 June 1884]
This is a draft of JW's response to a letter from C. Lungley, employee of the Fine Art Society, London dealers [more], dated 16 June 1884 (#01171). Huish's reply is #01173.

2.  Marcus Bourne Huish
Marcus Bourne Huish (1843 - d.1921), barrister, writer and art dealer, Director of the Fine Art Society [more].

3.  twenty pounds instead of 20 gns
JW asserted his right as an artist and gentleman rather than craftsman and tradesman to be paid in guineas; he also made more money that way.

4.  loyally
Mr Whistler's Etchings of Venice, 1880 (the first 'Venice Set') (K. 183-189, 191-195). (excat 5), was commissioned by the FAS in September 1879 but JW never completed the sets himself.

5.  four dozen and indeed three separate proofs
This was the completed edition of The Kitchen (K.24a); see JW's receipt dated 12 June 1884 (#13075).