UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 01154
Date: 12 January [1883][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Marcus Bourne Huish[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler F86
Document Type: ALS


'[Penned on?] 1883[3]'

Now Huish! now my dear Huish -

you know you said guineas[4]! -

You proposed that a cheque for a hundred guineas should be sent to me, and I at once acquiesed [sic] - gracefully as is my wont -

I am sure that you are not responsable [sic] for the after thought - and that you will see it counteracted and send me the fiver[5] -

Beyond this you must feel that there can [p. 2] be no minor question of liability on the one side or the other possible to entertain with any dignity -

I waived all further claims upon the Society when I so frankly accepted your suggestion and the profered [sic] hundred guinea Cheque -

Little Brown's[6] idea of my paying in some strange way for your press[7] is an inspiration - a mere flicker of genius - based upon nothing at all - save possibly a half expressed willingness to buy purchase from the Society the press at half price when one day he offered it to me at that reduced rate -

However all details of every nature are merged in my willingness to receive the hundred guineas - for the past - We shake hands on that platform - That game is played -

Honors are easy - the cards are shuffled for a new deal -

Now we start afresh - meaning resolutely to do our best by each other -

Is not that your feeling?

It certainly is that of mine -

Yours sincerely

J McN Whistler

13 Tite Street -

Jan 12 -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  12 January [1883]
This appears to be a draft reply to Huish's letter to JW, 11 January 1883, which referred to the £100 cheque (#01153). Also, see note (in another hand) at the top of the letter.

2.  Marcus Bourne Huish
Marcus Bourne Huish (1843 - d.1921), barrister, writer and art dealer, Director of the Fine Art Society [more].

3.  [Penned on?] 1883
Written lightly in pencil, in another hand, in top right corner of page, at right angles to the main text..

4.  you said guineas
Huish had just sent him a cheque for £100 rather than in the more gentlemanly guineas (see M. B. Huish to JW, #01153, which includes a draft for this letter). It related to the printing of Mr Whistler's Etchings of Venice, 1880 (the first 'Venice Set') (K. 183-189, 191-195). (excat 5).

5.  fiver
In his reply, Huish relented and sent the additional money (M. B. Huish to JW, #01155).

6.  Brown's
Ernest George Brown (1853 or 1854-1915), assistant manager at the Fine Art Society [more].

7.  your press
That is, the Society's printing press. This relates to a lingering dispute between JW and the Society over how much he should be paid for printing Mr Whistler's Etchings of Venice, 1880 (the first 'Venice Set') (K. 183-189, 191-195). (excat 5). See M. B. Huish to JW, #01139, #01129, #01143, #01146; E. G. Brown to JW, #01140; JW to M. B. Huish, #01127, #01128, #01145.