The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 01092
Date: [1 or 8 June 1900?][1]
Author: William Richman Farquhar[2]
Place: Paris
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler F23
Document Type: ALS




Dear Mr. Whistler,

Mrs. Peck[4] has asked me to write to you concerning the portrait[5] of my wife[6], and say that she considers that she is now entitled to the possession of it & is quite willing to take it as it stands without any further work on it. In case you dont want to part with it, she is willing to take back the sum she paid, and also claims recompense [p. 2] for the trouble and expense she has incurred during the last five or six years, in having the portrait painted.

I'm afraid my wife wont be able to sit any more as she is'nt at all well this summer. However, if you will let me know when and where I can see you I shall go and talk it over with you, for there [p. 3] are so many things easier said than written.

With kindest regards from us both
I am
very sincerely yours

W. R. Farquhar

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [1 or 8 June 1900?]
Dated by the almanac and the sequence of correspondence (see JW's reply, #01620 and Farquhar's following letter on 14 June 1900, #01093).

2.  William Richman Farquhar
William Richman Farquhar (m. 1897), husband of Marion Farquhar [more].

3.  '1900'
Written in another hand.

4.  Mrs. Peck
Annah B. Peck (b. ca 1850), patron [more].

5.  portrait
Portrait of Miss Marion Peck (YMSM 439).

6.  wife
Marion Farquhar (b. ca 1872, m. 1897), née Peck [more].