UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 01030
Date: 10 August 1899
Author: Arthur Jerome Eddy[1]
Place: Chicago
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris/London?]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler E18
Document Type: TLS


ARTHUR J. EDDY,
THE TEMPLE,
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS.

Chicago, Ills.,

August 10th, 1899.

Mr. James McNeil [sic] Whistler,
8 Fitzroy St., Fitzroy Square,
London, W., England.

My Dear Mr. Whistler, -

I am addressing this note to you in Paris and in London, making another effort to find you.

Unless something unforeseen happens, Mrs. Eddy[2] and I will sail Tuesday, August 15th, on the White Star Steamer "Cymric", landing in Liverpool August 24th or 25th. Any telegram or communication addressed to me at Liverpool, C/o The White Star S. S. Co. will reach me for I will inquire immediately upon my landing.

From Liverpool it is my intention to go to Glasgow and see your portrait of Carlysle[3] [sic]. I may be in Scotland three or four days and arrive in London about September 1st, where we may remain three or four days, going from there to Paris. My London address will be Brown's Hotel. In Paris I think I will go to "The Chatham[4]" for I liked the looks of the place when I was trying to find you, but my Paris mail better be addressed C/o of Credit Lyonnaise.

Yours very truly,

Arthur J Eddy


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Arthur Jerome Eddy
Arthur Jerome Eddy (1859-1920), writer and collector [more].

2.  Mrs. Eddy
Lucy Crapo Eddy (b. 1863), née Orrell, wife of A. J. Eddy [more].

3.  Carlysle
Arrangement in Grey and Black, No. 2: Portrait of Thomas Carlyle (YMSM 137).

4.  Chatham
JW regularly stayed at the Hotel Chatham in Paris.