UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 01029
Date: 1 March 1898
Author: Arthur Jerome Eddy[1]
Place: Chicago
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler E17
Document Type: ALS


ARTHUR J. EDDY,
618 THE ROOKERY,
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS.

My dear Mr Whistler -

Mr. David C. Thomson[2] of London has just left my office and we had an hour's talk about you, - it was next thing to seeing you.

He says you have several fine things on hand - one a [p. 2] portrait of yourself[3], and one of a little girl the "Princess"[4] - also the two portraits of Miss Phillipp[5].

Will you not send over one or two of these fine things and let me see them?

If for sale what would I have your own portrait for?

I talked about you in Philadelphia [p. 3] in January before a fine audience.

If you will send over two of the pictures named I will take care of all expense.

Or if you will come yourself I again will bear all expense -

Very sincerely yours

Arthur J Eddy

March first - 1898


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Arthur Jerome Eddy
Arthur Jerome Eddy (1859-1920), writer and collector [more].

2.  David C. Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

3.  portrait of yourself
Possibly Brown and Gold (YMSM 440) which had been in JW's studio since 1895.

4.  Princess
Probably Rose and Gold: The Little Lady Sophie of Soho (YMSM 504), a portrait of Sophie Burkett, daughter of JW's landlady [more].

5.  two portraits of Miss Phillipp
Possibly The Jade Necklace (YMSM 478) and Miss Rosalind Birnie Philip Standing (YMSM 479).