UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

search by record number

System Number: 01015
Date: 15 September [1894][1]
Author: Arthur Jerome Eddy[2]
Place: Chicago
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler E4
Document Type: ALS


ARTHUR J. EDDY,
618 THE ROOKERY,
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS.

"Cent-dix, Rue du Bac" That much French I really learned so that the cabbies understood me. To speak it, as I often have since my return, to write it now, makes me homesick to see you, my dear Mr. Whistler. Only last night I told Mrs Eddy[3] that you were the only man [p. 2] I ever met and associated with daily whom I found companionable and ever more enjoyable each succeeding day. Barring the pain and torture we had - perhaps I should say, I had - the best of times together. I never would have believed I could have so jolly a time with a man so much younger than I am. To-day [p. 3] and every day I look forward to the time when you and Mrs Whistler[4] will be with us, with no portrait - confronting us every day we will turn night into day and paint each other's face a deep crimson hue with wine such as the gods drink on festive days.

Do not disappoint [p. 4] us - do not let anything interfere with the proposed journey. Our art institute is wild over the prospect of having your pictures and they will make the Exhibition the event of the year - of many years - and as for yourself, well no one believes for a moment you will come to America [p. 5][5] (2) so here is a rare opportunity to again prove that people in general know nothing. - Besides I have talked about you and Mrs Whistler so much that people begin to look upon me as a monumental liar and will not believe half I say - so you see you must come, speak for your-[p. 6]self and let the timid see that you are something less than a bear even though something more than a man.

But where is our portrait[6]? I am getting anxious, lest you have painted the [Senator?] out and some other fellow in.

If you do not send that I will have your friend Vos[7] [p. 7] paint me hat ulster and all - there.

Really we - Mrs. Eddy some of my intimate friends and I - can hardly wait to see it.

The Renoir[8] I have returned - poor little girl, she never quite recovered from your very ungallant remarks.

Remember me to Miss Phillip[9] [sic] and give my love to Mrs. Whistler -

Sincerely yours

Arthur J Eddy

September fifteenth


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  15 September [1894]
Dated by reference to portrait.

2.  Arthur Jerome Eddy
Arthur Jerome Eddy (1859-1920), writer and collector [more].

3.  Mrs Eddy
Lucy Crapo Eddy (b. 1863), née Orrell, wife of A. J. Eddy [more].

4.  Mrs Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

5.  [p. 5]
Eddy's numbering system has labelled this as the second page, although it is actually the fifth side of text. The printed address letterhead also appears at the top of this page, as on page one, and is not re-transcribed here.

6.  portrait
Arrangement in Flesh Colour and Brown: Portrait of Arthur J. Eddy (YMSM 425): it had arrived in Chicago by 5 December 1894.

7.  Vos
Hubert Vos (1855-1935), portrait painter [more].

8.  Renoir
Pierre Auguste Renoir (1841-1919), painter [more]; the rejected portrait has not been identified.

9.  Miss Phillip
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].