The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 00992
Date: [3/24 January 1899][1]
Author: Théodore Duret[2]
Place: [Paris]
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler D198
Document Type: ALS[3]


Voici, mon cher Whistler, les traductions en bon français, je crois, et, dans cette condition, serrant l'original d'aussi près que possible.

A votre disposition toujours et amitiés.

Th. Duret

[p. 2] La sympathie du gentilhomme et l'éloquence de l'avocat ont fait d'une accusation la plus haute distinction.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [3/24 January 1899]
JW was occupied in revising, transcribing, and in some cases getting translations of his artistic statements, including the Propositions early in 1899 (see JW to T. Duret, 30 January 1899, #09659). According to the almanac the previous Tuesdays were 3-24 January 1899. This letter is dated '1899' in another hand, and accompanied two translations by Duret (#13818, #13816). It was probably done to be copied and hung on the walls in the Académie Carmen, the school opened by Carmen Rossi and attended by JW in Paris from 1898-1901.

2.  Théodore Duret
Théodore Duret (1838-1927), art critic and collector [more].

3.  ALS
Page 2 is on a different paper, and may have nothing to do with either the letter or translations. This letter was published in MacDonald, Margaret F., and Joy Newton, 'Correspondence Duret-Whistler,' Gazette des Beaux-Arts, November 1987, pp. 150-64, at pp. 158-59. The Pennells note that an English version and Duret's translation of A Further Proposition were hung on the walls of the Académie Carmen in Paris in February 1899, and that the lithographed text, #06825, was hung there the following month (see Pennell, Elizabeth Robins, and Joseph Pennell, The Life of James McNeill Whistler, 2 vols, London and Philadelphia, 1908, vol. 2, p. 236). All these copies were probably made to hang on the walls of the Académie, for a letter from JW in London to Inez Eleanor Addams (fl. 1898-1927), née Bate, painter [more], in Paris, asks for the papers on 'low tone' ([6 May 1899], #00014). JW himself asked E. R. Pennell if the lithographed Propositions had been recorded in an article on the Académie Carmen ([26 September 1899], #07684). The translations and references to JW's texts are at #06793; #13379; #00991; #06826; #13818; #13816; #06825; #09659.

4.  '1899'
Written in pencil, in another hand.