UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 00937
Date: 31 January 1887
Author: Helen Lenoir[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler D143
Document Type: ALS


ADDRESS TELEGRAMS / "SAVOYARD, LONDON".

SAVOY THEATRE,
STRAND.

Jan 31 87

Dear Mr Whistler -

I don't know what you must think of me but I am worked to death just now! I have been down at the American consulate all day getting all our copyright papers signed, as Sir Arthur Sullivan[2] goes away tomorrow for a month & I had [p. 2] to get it done.

I have been over to see the pictures[3] - they seem quite safely arranged but it is a shame they should all have their faces to the wall - I fear the room is too small or rather low to hang them is it not?

Now I have sent the cheque to Mr Lewis[4] - so he can give it you first thing tomorrow Tuesday - and [p. 3] you can give them yours that evening safely.

I want specially to see you - but seem never to know where I shall be - perhaps tomorrow evening after the meeting you would look in?

ever sincerely

Helen Lenoir


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Helen Lenoir
Helen Lenoir (1852-1913), née Coupar Black, actress and stage manager [more]. She had written to JW on the same subject on 29 January (#00936). The paper has a narrow mourning edge.

2.  Sir Arthur Sullivan
Sir Arthur Seymour Sullivan (1842-1900), composer and conductor [more].

3.  pictures
Richard D'Oyly Carte (1844-1901), impresario and property developer [more], lent JW £500 on the security of certain paintings, probably Arrangement in Grey and Black: Portrait of the Painter's Mother (YMSM 101) and Arrangement in Black: La Dame au brodequin jaune - Portrait of Lady Archibald Campbell (YMSM 242), and possibly Arrangement in Grey and Black, No. 2: Portrait of Thomas Carlyle (YMSM 137). This JW lent to the Society of British Artists, of which he was President.

4.  Mr Lewis
Sir George Henry Lewis (1833-1911), society lawyer [more].