The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 00936
Date: 29 January 1887
Author: Helen Lenoir[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler D142
Document Type: ALS



Jan 29 87

Dear Mr Whistler

I am sorry I shall not be able to be here tonight.

I understand from Mr Lewis[2] they hope to get all finished with you Monday afternoon -

They wish us to send the cheque to [p. 2] them. So you should arrange with them exactly how it is done - but I can see no difficulty - if you give them a the Society[3] your[4] cheque on Tuesday evening it cannot be presented at your bank till Wednesday so if Mr Lewis gives you a cheque on Tuesday, it is quite right -

The two first things are the pictures[5] - and the agreement - after [p. 3] that there is no difficulty

Forgive my writing in a rush.

Yours [ever?]

[Helen?] Lenoir

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Helen Lenoir
Helen Lenoir (1852-1913), née Coupar Black, actress and stage manager [more]. The letter has a narrow mourning edge.

2.  Mr Lewis
Sir George Henry Lewis (1833-1911), society lawyer [more].

3.  the Society
Society of British Artists.

4.  your
Double underlined.

5.  pictures
Several pictures, probably Arrangement in Grey and Black: Portrait of the Painter's Mother (YMSM 101) and Arrangement in Black: La Dame au brodequin jaune - Portrait of Lady Archibald Campbell (YMSM 242), and possibly Arrangement in Grey and Black, No. 2: Portrait of Thomas Carlyle (YMSM 137), were surety for money borrowed from R. d'Oyly Carte for JW's loan of £500 to the SBA.