The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 00932
Date: 9 December 1886
Author: Helen Lenoir[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler D138
Document Type: ALS




Dec. 9 1886
7 P. M

Dear Mr Whistler

I am very sorry I had to be out this afternoon and I am just going out again for the evening, so in case you call I leave this for you.

I only got at Mr Carte[3] today because he ran away yesterday - and I have told him as much as I could cram into the 7 minutes he gave me - He has promised to see me early tomorrow [p. 2] morning and let me have a reply - and I shall send you a telegram[4] or a letter by hand[5] - He (Mr Carte) is also going to telegraph you about the dinner - I shall send to the studio as I suppose that is best in the morning.

Now about the cheque - as business is business - what Mr Carte asked me was first as to your security from the society[6] - second as to his from you. I told him you[7] were satisfied with the society's owing it to you as you considered them responsible [p. 3] - and as to himself that you proposed giving him 3 pictures[8] as security till you repaid it - - I want you to let me know exactly how you would propose to do it? - If arranged I suppose the proper way would be [to] hand Mr Carte the pictures to be his property till you bought them back? I know you won't mind my asking plain business questions on a business matter - as Mr Carte naturally cons examines me as to exactly what I do mean and I cannot always tell him. -

If you are going to your club or elsewhere perhaps you would post me a card tonight so that I could put everything clearly to Mr Carte in the morning.

Excuse incoherence as I am in a rush

ever Yrs

Helen Lenoir

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Helen Lenoir
Helen Lenoir (1852-1913), née Coupar Black, actress and stage manager [more].

2.  private
Double underlined.

3.  Mr Carte
Richard D'Oyly Carte (1844-1901), impresario and property developer [more].

4.  telegram
Double underlined.

5.  letter by hand
Double underlined.

6.  security from the society
JW lent money to the Society of British Artists, of which he was President.

7.  you
Double underlined.

8.  3 pictures
The pictures concerned were probably Arrangement in Grey and Black: Portrait of the Painter's Mother (YMSM 101), Arrangement in Grey and Black, No. 2: Portrait of Thomas Carlyle (YMSM 137) and Arrangement in Black: La Dame au brodequin jaune - Portrait of Lady Archibald Campbell (YMSM 242).