UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 00555
Date: [1/8 April 1889?][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: John Cavafy[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler C56
Document Type: ALdS


BEEFSTEAK CLUB.

My dear John -

It was good of you to lend me the Balcony[3] - but considering all the precautions I took to replace the others that pictures I wished to borrow, there was perhaps scant amiability in your note of refusal -

However I do not care to meet you with reproaches, but considering the conditio I would ask you that there may I have wondered if instead of being wearied with continued app requests to lend, you would be [p. 2] willing to let me buy back some of your pictures -

To begin with will your Father[4] let me try and purchase have the Balcony? - for 100 gs - I think I would I would give you & may I offer your a hundred guineas for it -

Very Sincerely Yours

J McN. Whistler

Tower House Tite Street

[p. 3] for and I have bethought myself of a way out of the difficulty -

Instead of this continual struggle with those the owners of my pictures, whenever I wish the works to be seen & I propose I propose by degrees to buy them back -

if there be n instead of this continual struggle, with the owners of my pictures, whenever I wish to show works to be seen we might not arrive at some more simple solution of the difficulty - and have finally bethought myself

[summer?] -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [1/8 April 1889?]
This is one of two drafts of #03552 written on this sheet of paper (see #00554).

2.  John Cavafy
Dr John Cavafy (ca 1839-1901), physician and collector, son of G. J. Cavafy [more]. On 22 March 1889 he had written refusing to lend more pictures to JW (#00553).

3.  Balcony
Variations in Flesh Colour and Green: The Balcony (YMSM 56), then in Universal Exhibition, Paris, 1889.

4.  Father
George John Cavafy (1805-1891), merchant, partner in G. J. Cavafy and Company [more].