UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 00309
Date: [5 March 1878][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Jonathon Blott[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler B85
Document Type: ALS


Dear Sir -

I enclose copy of letter from Mr Howell[3], - which will make it clear to you that I am myself as much the creditor as you - and the one far away most agreived [sic] -

I have not answered your letters[4] before now because Howell has continually promised to see you and repeatedly assured me that "it was all right". - I have not seen [p. 2] him for some time and only knew last night that he is out of town and does not return until Wednesday or Thursday -

Very faithfully yours

J A McN. Whistler

96. Cheyne Walk - Chelsea -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [5 March 1878]
Another copy of this letter was dated by C. A. Howell (#02775).

2.  Jonathon Blott
Jonathon Blott (b. ca 1847), oil and colourman [more].

3.  copy of letter from Mr Howell
Probably Howell's letter to JW, dated 22 February 1878 (#02183). Charles Augustus ('Owl') Howell (1840? - d.1890), entrepreneur [more], seems to have used a cheque made out by JW to Blott as security for payment of a debt. This is one of a series of letters regarding financial transactions between JW, Blott, and Howell, dating from February to June 1878 (#10340, #02183, #09002, #11161, #00310, #10055, #09255 and #07619).

4.  your letters
Letters untraced.