UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 00244
Date: 1 December 1891
Author: John Chandler Bancroft[1]
Place: Paris
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler B18
Document Type: ALS


Hotel St Romain
Rue St Roch
Paris -

Dec 1st. 1891 -

Dear Whistler

I was pleased to read the other day that your other great portrait[2] goes to the Luxemb[o]urg - I wish it was to our poor Museum in Boston: not so noble a resting place at present certainly nor perhaps ever - But one where it would may be do more good in the long run -

I have been laid up here for a month, beginning with an influenza & ending by a [p. 2] chance exposure in pneumonia. Otherwise my wife[3] & I would be somewhere in the South where the sun shines - Now we shall go whenever I am able: I wish we knew when -

Is "my" marine[4] come into existence or is that for another season? However it may be, dont let it slip your mind altogether not too long, because my heart is quite set upon it -

After such a season of ills as I have been [p. 3] through, there is not much sense in having plans - Still I do hope to find myself in London next May and in good health & condition too -

With sincere regards to Mrs Whistler[5], believe me
Very sincerely Yours

J. C. Bancroft


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  John Chandler Bancroft
John Chandler Bancroft (1822-1907), politician, diplomat and collector [more].

2.  portrait
Arrangement in Grey and Black: Portrait of the Painter's Mother (YMSM 101).

3.  wife
Harriet B. Bancroft (b. ca 1843), née James [more].

4.  marine
Bancroft bought Silver and Blue: Southampton (M.1142).

5.  Mrs Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].