UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 00233
Date: [20 February 1889]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: The Baillie[1]
Place: Glasgow
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler B7
Document Type: MsLc[2]


(The Bailie, Glasgow, Feb 20, 1889.)

Allusion having been twice made in this column to the picture marked 472 in the catalogue[3] of the Exhibition of the Institute, and ascribed to Mr J. McN. Whistler, but now removed from the walls, the following message[4] with regard to it, which Mr Whistler has forwarded to the Bailie office, will be read with interest: -

"Shameful imposition, Critics ridiculous - ''tis their nature to,' as Dr Watts[5] beautifully puts it. But how could your painters look at my mother's portrait[6] and believe the other possible? Brutal frame enough, God knows, ———[7], sent me sketch of the blatant bogus business.

J. McNeill Whistler."


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  The Baillie
The Baillie, 20 February 1889.

2.  MsLc
Written in an unknown hand.

3.  picture marked 472 in the catalogue
Anon., Dream of Morning off Gravesend(z207), (cat no. 472), the 28th Exhibition of Works of Modern Artists, Glasgow Institute of the Fine Arts, Glasgow, 1889.

4.  message
JW to Gray, 16 February 1889, #03524.

5.  Dr Watts
Dr Isaac Watts (1674-1748), hymnwriter [more]. He wrote 'Let dogs delight / To bark and bite / For God hath made them so', Divine Songs for Children, [London], 1715.

6.  mother's portrait
Arrangement in Grey and Black: Portrait of the Painter's Mother (YMSM 101).

7.  ———
In a different version of this telegram, the name is revealed as Hamilton Maxwell (1830-1923), watercolour landscape painter [more] (see #03524).