UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 00181
Date: 22 December 1887
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Craibe Angus and Son[1]
Place: Glasgow
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler A180
Document Type: MsLd[2]


Copy.

The Vale
Chelsea

Dec 22 '1887.

Dear Sir,

You must not think that I should not be always very much pleased to do business with you, and willing to take into consideration, as much as possible, the circumstances you describe as making difficulties for you; but in this matter of the etchings you must see that the case is a very clear one. No sooner had they the proofs of Finette[3] been packed off to you than a client (a dealer[4]) who had once seen them but hesitated, came back to say that he would take the two proofs at my price - he always pays cash on the spot. Now on this special transaction why spoil my sale? You wont take the two proofs and you have not sent me a cheque for the one you keep. Therefore you kquite spoil cripple me for the moment.

Now about the other old etchings, that you have in in [sic] your hands, don't you think that you might return them to me now, at once, as it is quite evident that you have no sale for them there, and I want them very much.[5] here.

Re Paintings

I will do what I can for you in this matter, on condition that your client thoroughly be made to understand that on buying a painting of mine he engages himself to lend it for exhibition either in this country or abroad, when asked for. to do so. Of course I would never abuse his kindness, only I cannot have a picture of mine absolutely lost in [p. 2] the provinces (as is the case, case with the one of that Mr Lethardt [sic][6]) bought years ago).

And I am, faithfully.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Craibe Angus and Son
J. Craibe Angus, art dealer, of Craibe Angus and Son, Glasgow [more]; and William Craibe Angus (1830-1899), Glasgow art dealer [more]. This is a reply to J. C. Angus's letter of 21 December (#00180).

2.  MsLd
This was written by Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more], with corrections by JW. Although 'Copy' is written at the top of the page, the corrections to the text indicate that it might have served as a draft version.

3.  proofs of Finette
Finette (K.58).

4.  a dealer
Possibly T. M. McLean, see #13017.

5.  very much.
Crossed through in pencil.

6.  Mr Lethardt [sic]
James Leathart (1820-1895), collector [more].