UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 00150
Date: 19 February 1879
Author: Theodore Allingham[1]
Place: London
Recipient: Sydney Morse[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler A149
Document Type: ALS


'16[3]'

55 Old Broad Street
London -

Feby 19. 1879

Dear Sir,

Yours of this date[4] to hand - It is really too bad that you and I should be put to so much trouble - As to Mr Whistler I have not seen him for some two months - Mr Howell[5] I see frequently and I have written him very strongly on the matter this evening[.] I expect it rests with him more than with Mr Whistler.

Yours faithfully

Theo. Allingham.

Sydney Morse Esq
96 Cheyne Walk
Chelsea.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Theodore Allingham
Theodore Frederick Allingham (b. 1845), solicitor [more].

2.  Sydney Morse
Sydney Morse (1854-1929), solicitor [more].

3.  16
Added in pencil at top of sheet, in another hand.

4.  Yours of this date
Not located.

5.  Mr Howell
Charles Augustus ('Owl') Howell (1840? - d.1890), entrepreneur [more]. A Chinese 'pagoda' cabinet sold by JW to Morse, which is now at Leighton House Museum, London, became the subject of a protracted wrangle between JW, Morse and Howell. It later turned out that Howell, the agent in the sale, pawned the 'headpiece' of the cabinet whilst claiming it was in for repair. JW published his version of events in Whistler, James McNeill, Correspondence. Paddon Papers. The Owl and the Cabinet, London, [1882]. See S. Morse to T. F. Allingham, 16 September 1878 (#00145) and Allingham's replies, 18 and 19 September 1878 (#00149, #00150).