UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 00144
Date: 24 February 1893
Author: Frederick Hovey Allen[1]
Place: New York
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler A143
Document Type: TLc


'(No. 1.[2])'

COPY.

T / 6-5-93

CITY AND COUNTY OF NEW YORK SS.

New York,

February 24, 1893.

I, FREDERICK H. ALLAN [sic], of No. 59 Wall Street, New York City, U. S. A., attorney and counsellor-at-law, do hereby depose and say:

That some four or five years ago I received a call from Mr. and Mrs. Sheridan-Ford[3], saying that they wished to interest me and secure my co-operation in a matter which they would explain.

The said Sheridan Ford thereupon stated that he had a verbal arrangement with Mr. J. McNeil [sic] Whistler, of London, whereby the said Whistler had agreed to come to the United States in order to deliver a course of lectures upon art, to exhibit various of his works, and in general to do such things as would be required of him by the said Ford, in order to make money from the exhibition of his pictures and the sale of tickets for his lectures, etc. etc.

That the said Ford represented to deponent that if a syndicate of a few gentlemen was got together who would advance certain preliminary expenses, the said Whistler was ready to make a contract with the said Ford whereby all the profits accruing from the exhibition of the said Whistler's pictures and the sale of tickets for lectures etc., should be divided between the said syndicate and the said Whistler. The said Ford represented that the profits of such syndicate would be large.

Said Ford showed to deponent a paper containing facts and figures in support of his statement.

He further sought the aid of deponent, as he said that it would be the means of establishing himself and his wife in life.

Deponent thereupon organized the syndicate, as suggested by Mr. Ford, and advanced to the said Ford monies for himself and his wife to go to England, in order to secure the signing of the contract which the said Ford represented the said Whistler as (p. 2) being ready to sign at once. Within a few days after the arrival of the said Ford in London, he received a cable from London saying that the said Whistler was ready to sign the contract upon the terms set forth to seponent [sic] upon the receipt of £100. The deponent sent the said £100 to the said Ford.

Deponent doth further depose and say that he never received the contract from the said Whistler, and has never been paid the said sums so advanced to the said Ford, or any part of them. That he believes that the statements of the said Ford were baseless and without foundation, and that the statements made were false representations. That Mrs. Ford, thw [sic] wife of the said Ford, was present at the interviews between said Ford and said deponent, and vouched for the correctness of the statements made to deponent by the said Ford.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF the said deponent hath hereunto set his hand and seal the day and year first above written.

(signe[d]) Frederick H. Allen    seal.

Notary's seal

Sworn to before me this 24th day of Feby, 1893.

(signed) S. L. Brinley[4]

Notary Public.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Frederick Hovey Allen
Frederick Hovey Allen (1845-1926), congressional minister and writer on art [more]. This statement comes in response to the request made by Lewis and Lewis for an affidavit from F. H. Allen, as referred to in #02551.

2.  Mr. and Mrs. Sheridan-Ford
Sheridan Ford (1860-1922), poet, critic, politician and writer on art [more]; and Mary Bacon Ford, née Martin, art agent [more].

3.  No. 1.
Double underlined, in the hand of JW.

4.  S. L. Brinley
S. L. Brinley, Notary Public, New York.