The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Wisselingh., Elbert Jan Van
Record 8 of 27

System Number: 07102
Date: 9 August 1889
Author: Elbert J. van Wisselingh[1]
Place: The Hague
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1091
Document Type: ALS


9th August 1889

Dear Mr Whistler,

I am sorry you had to wire but I had not had time to inform you of the safe arrival of the two cases, as they came late in the afternoon, the day before yesterday. I trust that you have received my telegram in reply and that your mind is at rest now. I intended to write to you yesterday when your telegram came, but [p. 2] I thought the telegram would do in the mean time, as I had other business to attend to.

I had told Baron van Lynden[2] of your sending this beautiful portrait[3] to Amsterdam and as he was not likely to see it in the exhibition[4] I invited him to come and see it here. He called yesterday afternoon with the Baroness[5] and they were both delighted with it and appreciated it [p. 3] thoroughly, although, between us, the Baron was recently led in for a very poor Gérôme[6] which fortunately, he is not to keep however and which will have to find back its way to Paris.

Looking at the portrait, both the Baron and the Baroness expressed the wish to have a similar portrait of their mother[7] a lady far advanced in years. I do not know whether you would care to undertake to paint a portrait abroad or whether any-[p. 4]thing would actually come of it, but upon my telling the Baron that you had thought of paying a visit to Holland this summer, he asked me to introduce you to him when you came. Only he leaves for the country about the first of next month, as soon as the shooting begins, I believe. No news about the 'Fur Jacket'[8] but I hope I shall not be obliged to return it to you because I like the picture immensely and if I had the money I would call it mine at once.

With[9] kind regards to yourself and Mrs Whistler[10]
I remain, yours sincerely

E. J. van Wisselingh

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Elbert J. van Wisselingh
Elbert Jan Van Wisselingh (b. ca 1848), art dealer [more].

2.  Baron van Lynden
Willem Reinhard Boelens (b. 1840), Baron van Lynden, banker and collector [more].

3.  portrait
Arrangement in Grey and Black: Portrait of the Painter's Mother (YMSM 101).

4.  exhibition
Tentoonstelling van Kunstwerken van Levende Meesters, Amsterdam, 1889.

5.  the Baroness

6.  Gérôme
Jean Léon Gérôme (1824-1904), artist [more].

7.  mother
JW did not undertake this portrait.

8.  'Fur Jacket'
Arrangement in Black and Brown: The Fur Jacket (YMSM 181).

9.  With
Continued in left margin.

10.  Mrs Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].