The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Mewburn, Frank F.
Record 4 of 11

System Number: 04365
Date: 16 March 1882
Author: Samuel Wreford Paddon [1]
Place: [Surrey]
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P3
Document Type: ALS[2]

Woodlands. Red Hill.

16 " March " 1882

My dear Whistler

Many thanks for your kind letter - I fully accept your apology as to registering yours to me - the copy - that is the one I hold - or a copy of it, is very much at your service

As regards my proposed bet, I acquiesce with you entirely not from mine but from your point of view. As regards any question of "de regueur" you have in this case forgotten that you are perfectly "au fait" of that which you assume is less known to myself.

How you wrote you say is absolutely "your own affair", by all means let it be so, on the strict understanding that with the best feeling towards [p. 2] yourself, & wishing to preserve that friendship for you which I have felt ever since Howell[3] introduced you to me in Paris - I must ask you not to send me any letter to or from Mr J. E. McNay[4][,] Mr Mewburn[5] or any one else respecting this wretched affair.

As I told you in my former letter, Howell has always proved himself my friend & I believe equally yours, & as regards Mr J. McNay, that gentleman has never had a stronger advocate than Howell -

On these grounds I absolutely refuse to have anything further to do with this petty tirade against my friend Howell.

I shall be glad to know when you have again that same kindly feeling towards him that you had when I first [p. 3] knew you, that we may resume our pleasant intercourse

I remain
Very sincerely yours

S. Wreford Paddon

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Samuel Wreford Paddon
Samuel Wreford Paddon (b. 1843), diamond merchant and collector [more].

2.  ALS
Published, with minor variations, in Whistler, James McNeill, Correspondence. Paddon Papers. The Owl and the Cabinet, London, [1882], Letter IV, p. 3. This is a reply to Letter III, JW to Paddon, #04364. For full annotation of the pamhlet, see JW's letter to S. W. Paddon, 10 March 1882 (#09519).

3.  Howell
Charles Augustus ('Owl') Howell (1840? - d.1890), entrepreneur [more]. The reference to Howell relates to an incident recorded by JW in Whistler, James McNeill, Correspondence. Paddon Papers. The Owl and the Cabinet, London, [1882]. It concerned Howell's rather ill-judged boast that he knew Benjamin Disraeli (1804-1882), Prime Minister of Great Britain [more].

4.  J. E. McNay
John ('Jack') Edward MacNay (1834-1893), General Manager of the Stockton and Darlington Railway [more].

5.  Mr Mewburn
Frank F. Mewburn (b. 1820 or 1821), solicitor and collector [more].