The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Whistler, Helen
Record 28 of 149

System Number: 06696
Date: [23 June 1882][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Helen Euphrosyne Whistler[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W690
Document Type: ALS[3]


My dear Nellie -

I have been for an age without reaching you - and I am convinced that you have simply said that I must be in a brutal state of good health! - No - I have been staying as you know in the country and have lots to tell you - And poor Willie[4] [p. 2] has allowed himself to be ill again -

I really do want so to come and see you - but cannot get possibly until Wednesday or Saturday - however directly I can I shall -

Tom[5] turned up today - and brought with him some American friends who want to buy etchings[6] - They are to come tomorrow - If by the way you can get hold of Tom, or know his friends Mr & Mrs Rosewalts[7], do [8] send word to them, begging that they will come to me at 2 - or 3 o'clock, instead of 4, as had been previously arranged - because - because in short I have to call in Beaufort Gardens[9] at about 5! -

I went this evening to Lady Freak's[10] and saw Elfie[11] as a Greek matron - or young girl, I don't know - !!

I daren't stay any longer!,
Alas [I am?]

[butterfly signature]

This document is protected by copyright.


Mrs. William Whistler
28. Wimpole Street.
Cavendish Square
[postmark:] CHARING CROSS W. C. / 7 / JU 23 / 82
[postmark on verso:] CHARING CROSS W. / 7 / JU 23 / 82


1.  [23 June 1882]
Dated from postmark.

2.  Helen Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  ALS
Letter written at right-angles to embossed address. 'No 20' written in another hand at top right corner of letter and envelope.

4.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

5.  Tom
Probably Thomas Delano Whistler (1857-1921), engineer, JW's nephew [more].

6.  etchings
Possibly Mr Whistler's Etchings of Venice, 1880 (the first 'Venice Set') (K. 183-189, 191-195). (excat 5).

7.  Mr & Mrs Rosewalts
Mr and Mrs Rosewalts, social acquaintances of JW.

8.  do
Double underlined.

9.  Beaufort Gardens
Given that the main subject of the letters is family affairs, it is most likely that JW was to visit William Louis Winans (1823-before 1907), locomotive manufacturer and civil engineer [more], who lived at 12 Beaufort Gardens, London S. W.

10.  Lady Freak's
Lady Frederica Charlotte Mary Freake (d. 1932), née Maitland (m. 1868), wife of Sir Thomas George Freake [more].

11.  Elfie
Elfrida Elizabeth Ionides (1848-1929), née Bird, wife of Luke A. Ionides [more].