The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Deschamps, Charles William
Record 20 of 54

System Number: 07902
Date: [9/16 January 1884][1]
Author: JW
Place: St Ives
Recipient: Charles William Deschamps[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/24/4
Document Type: ALS

14. Barnoon Terrace. St Ives. Cornwall.

I am very greatly delighted with you my dear Deschamps, for doing all this so well for me - and I enclose the two letters from Mons. Maus[3] - but then you see he doesn't send his address! - and the early and important letters I have of course mislaid - However you say you have written - therefore you must have found the whole thing out -

Let me know the exact date fixed for the reception of the pictures at Brussels -

Mons. Maus ought to have the titles for the [p. 2] catalogue[4] - but let us put off sending them until the last moment - for I have not as yet heard from Chapman about his Nocturne[5] - and then there might be the portrait of Lady Meux[6] - though I doubt it -

I suppose my frame maker Wheatley[7] has brought you the etchings[8]? -

What about Mr Graham[9]. Grosvenor Place, - he has a Nocturne of mine - tall - arch of Battersea bridge - with falling rocket - you know - Mr Graham would lend it - Probably it is at Bethnal Green - in which case he would give you a letter to get it out at once -

Now I am off to my work -

You must let me know if you see anything in view for the big Game I talked to you about -

When I get back I shall show you 'Various[10]'. . ! -

Keep me au courant[11] mind as you promise -

With many thanks

[butterfly signature]

I wish by the way you would see the election at the [p. 3] 'Hogarth[12]' through all right about our candidate Menpes[13] -

I find the post brings your note with Huth's[14] - also a note from your clerk saying that etchings & frames have been delivered to you & asking for instructions -

In my letter to you I told you all about these - they are to go unglazed, for safety - and to be of course glazed when they reach the Société - .

I am telegraphing to ladies to call at your place to see pictures as I told you -

After all the letters from Maus are not to the point[.] They say nothing and I have come to the Post Office without them! -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [9/16 January 1884]
This letter appears to date from shortly after JW's letter to Deschamps, [8 January 1884], (#07908).

2.  Charles W. Deschamps
Charles William Deschamps (1848-1908), art dealer [more].

3.  two letters from Mons. Maus
These letters have not been located. Octave Maus (1856-1919), advocate, writer and art critic [more], was the moving force behind the Société des XX. He had written to invite JW to contribute to their first exhibition in 1884. JW was again invited to participate in 1888, but the opposition of James Ensor prevented his election to membership. Works exhibited were Symphony in White, No. 3 (YMSM 61), Nocturne: Blue and Silver - Chelsea (YMSM 103), Arrangement in Brown and Black: Portrait of Miss Rosa Corder (YMSM 203), Harmony in Grey and Green: Miss Cicely Alexander (YMSM 129) and Venice etchings.

4.  catalogue
A drawing by JW, Paintings for exhibition (M.910), was reproduced in the catalogue for [Exposition], Société des XX (Vingts), Brussels, 1884.

5.  Chapman about his Nocturne
Alfred Chapman (1839-1917), engineer and collector [more], whose collection included Nocturne: Blue and Silver - Bognor (YMSM 100).

6.  portrait of Lady Meux
Lady Valerie Susan ('Susie') Meux (1847-1910), née Langdon, collector and patroness [more]. JW wrote to her asking for Harmony in Pink and Grey: Portrait of Lady Meux (YMSM 229). It was not lent to Brussels, but shown in Annual Exhibition of Sketches, Pictures, and Photography, Dublin Sketching Club, Leinster Hall, Dublin, 1884 later in the year (#07928).

7.  Wheatley
William R. Wheatley (b. ca 1862), gold-beater [more].

8.  etchings
Probably from Mr Whistler's Etchings of Venice, 1880 (the first 'Venice Set') (K. 183-189, 191-195). (excat 5).

9.  Mr Graham
William Graham (1817-1885), MP and collector [more], who owned Nocturne: Blue and Gold - Old Battersea Bridge (YMSM 140).

10.  Various
Small scale works in oil and watercolour of St Ives, the sea and landscapes of Cornwall (see YMSM 263-288; M.915-921).

11.  au courant
Fr., up to date.

12.  Hogarth
The Hogarth Club. See letters to M. L. Menpes about membership (#10001, #10031).

13.  Menpes
Mortimer Luddington Menpes (1860-1938), artist [more]. He was working in St Ives with JW and Walter Richard Sickert (1860-1942), artist and writer on art [more].

14.  Huth's
Louis Huth (1821-1905), collector [more]. No letter to or from him at this date has been located.