The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Whistler, Julia de Kay
Record 19 of 44

System Number: 06458
Date: 19 April 1855[1]
Author: Anna Matilda Whistler[2]
Place: Baltimore
Recipient: JW
Place: [Washington[3]]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W453
Document Type: ALS

Alexandroffsky Villa[4]

Thursday 19th

I went yesterday for a few hours dear Jemie to my room at 176[5]. & Paul[6] returned me here last evening. for I seem a comfort to Mrs W[7] & she likes to know I am within reach of her room. she has been very ill, but is gradually tho slowly having fever lessened. The little Miss[8] is a model for your pencil & good as pretty. Are you working industriously Jemie dear? Oh do try to establish habits of diligence & order. I hear of George[9] but not from him. the lawsuit[10] is vexing & protracted. if it be not in favor of Winans & Co [11] I fear George will find it difficult to help us. Another reminder from yours & Willies[12] tailor yesterday[,] dont think your tradesmen too pressing how can they pay, if not paid? have you decided not to ask your friend here to lend you? but your industry must be your promisory note. Jemie dear I write for you to send me a well packed paper parcel (per Express tomorrow if not it will be too late - of all your soiled clothes, that I may send the valise full early next week. now dont put off. set about it promptly. I repaired the only three shirts that were not ragged yesterday. Mary[13] had rough dried them & will do them up today. And now after breakfast I report Mrs Winans so much better I shall go home tomorrow [p. 2] Mr Winans[14] expresses great interest about the portrait[15] you can invite him to judge of it when it is sufficient touched up! Mary B told me that cousin Ginnie[16] talked of their starting for Alexandria next Monday, I was not well enough to dine with them & thought she would rather do the honors at the head of the table as they had a guest. I hope you have a good appetite, shall send you brown loaves &c. You[17] sent no drawers, neither under shirt or night shirt. change now & send all for our last chance.

Your own

A M W.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  19 April 1855
Dated with reference to the Perpetual Calendar Whitaker's Almanac, and to AMW's letter to JW, 17 April 1855, #06456.

2.  Anna Matilda Whistler
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more].

3.  Washington
JW was still in Washington where he was painting the portrait of Anna Harding Denny (b. 1834); Portrait of Anna Denny (YMSM 4).

4.  Alexandroffsky Villa
The villa in Baltimore owned by Thomas De Kay Winans (1820-1878), locomotive engineer and collector [more]; see AMW to JW, 15, 16 and 18 September 1848, #06363.

5.  176
176 Preston Street, Baltimore, the house she was sharing with Donald McNeill Fairfax (1821-1894), naval officer, JW's cousin [more]; see AMW to JW, 26 and 27 November 1854, #06446.

6.  Paul
Paul, a servant; see AMW to JW, 17 April 1855, #06456.

7.  Mrs W
Celeste Winans (1823-1861), née Revillon, wife of Thomas De Kay Winans [more].

8.  Miss
Celeste Marguerite Winans (1855-1916), later Mrs Hutton, daughter of T. and C. Winans [more].

9.  George
George William Whistler (1822-1869), engineer, JW's half-brother [more].

10.  lawsuit
Ross Winans (1796-1877), locomotive manufacturer, father of JW's sister-in-law [more]; see AMW to JW, 28 February 1855, #06453.

11.  Winans & Co
The Locomotive firm of Ross Winans.

12.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

13.  Mr Winans
Thomas De Kay Winans (1820-1878), locomotive engineer and collector [more].

14.  Mary
Mary Brennan (b. 1825), AMW's servant [more].

15.  portrait
Anna ('Annie') Harding Denny (1834 or 1838-1913), a cousin of JW, later Mrs Corcoran [more].

16.  Ginnie
Virginia ('Ginnie') Carry Fairfax (d. 1878), née Ragland, wife of D. McN. Fairfax [more].

17.  You
'You ... AMW' continues in the left margin of p. 1.