The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Wilde, Oscar
Record 18 of 154

System Number: 07056
Date: [March 1882?][1]
Author: Oscar Wilde[2]
Place: Griggsville, IL
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1045
Document Type: ALS[3]

[motif of two silver-blue fish encircling a baited line]

U. S.

Dear Jimmy.

I admit the knee-breeches[4], but reject Colvin[5], and [p. 2] repudiate Quilter[6] -

Ever yours


This document is protected by copyright.




1.  [March 1882?]
Dated from Oscar Wilde's lecturing tour of the U. S. from January-October 1882. Dated also from JW and others to O. Wilde, #11393. Wilde was in Griggsville, Illinois during March 1882. See Ellmann, Richard, Oscar Wilde, London, 1987, pp. 178-81, 193.

2.  Oscar Wilde
Oscar Fingal O'Flahertie Wilde (1854-1900), writer, critic and playwright [more].

3.  ALS
A letter from O. Wilde to Col. W. F. Morse, [early March 1882], asks him to send a telegram with different words: 'Wilde New York / Whistler, Tite Street, Chelsea, London / I admit knee-breeches, and acknowledge epigrams, but reject Quilter and repudiate Colvin. / I hope I am to lecture again in New York - and in Boston / Yours truly / Oscar Wilde'; published in Holland, Merlin and Rupert Hart-Davis, eds, The Complete Letters of Oscar Wilde, London, 2000, pp. 148-9.

4.  knee-breeches
See earlier letter to which this is a reply, JW to O. Wilde, 4 February 1882, #11393. Upon his arrival in New York in January 1882, Wilde had been photographed by Napoleon Sarony in a dandyish costume which included knee-breeches. See Ellman, 1987, op. cit., p. ix.

5.  Colvin
Sidney Colvin (1845-1927), Keeper of Prints and Drawings, British Museum [more].

6.  Quilter
Henry ('Arry') Quilter (1851-1907), advocate and art critic [more].

Remainder of text printed on reverse flap.