The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Balestier, Wolcott
Record 15 of 17

System Number: 08021
Date: [January/March 1892][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: William Heinemann[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC
Document Type: ALS



My dear Publisher -

I gave your "propositions" on to Mr. Webb[4], my lawyer (I have two!!.) - and he thought very well of them -

You know that I went before with poor Balestier[5] to George Lewis[6] - but Webb is charming, and does delightfully for all intimate matters - He is going to add some suggestions, and I will send the document [p. 2] down to you tomorrow -

I shall get off to Paris in the afternoon, & so won't have time to reach you before I go.

However do see Mr. William Webb - and arrange everything entirely with him - his place is 11, Austin Friars. Old Broad Street. E. C.

It was very nice and kind of you to ask us[7] for tonight's play - and we were very sorry not [to] be able to go with you - Adieu for the moment. You will hear from me directly - and every thing will[8] come out all right as it always does -

[butterfly signature]

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [January/March 1892]
Dated by reference to 'poor Balestier', who died in December 1891.

2.  William Heinemann
William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more].

3.  '[1891]'
Added in another hand.

4.  Mr. Webb
William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more].

5.  Balestier
Charles Wolcott Balestier (1861-1891), novelist and literary agent [more].

6.  George Lewis
Sir George Henry Lewis (1833-1911), society lawyer [more].

7.  us
JW and Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

8.  will
Remainder written in left margin of p. 1.