The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Wann, Jane
Record 10 of 56

System Number: 06481
Date: 24 March [1857[1]]
Author: Anna Matilda Whistler[2]
Place: Philadelphia
Recipient: James H. Gamble[3]
Place: [Staten Island, New York]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W476
Document Type: ALS

433 Arch St Phila[4]

24th March.

My dear Mr Gamble

So scattered are my friends - tho so concentrated in my interest - I try to see as many as possible en passant. I am devoting a few days under this roof to this purpose, expecting to have the same advantage at No. 202 West 14th St[5] by arriving there next friday evening. I propose by the ten oclock steamboat line to start upon my return to N York friday morning, under the protecting Providence of my Lord. My stay at Mr Jaffrays in 14th St can only be till Monday 30th[,] direct me a line there or to the business house 56 Park Place thro which I send this, to advise me whether you can call to see me friday evening or Saturday & at what hour, that I may arrange my calls on other friends. I regret time will not admit of my crossing either to Brooklyn or Staten [p. 2] Island. tho my measure of strength is so increased, I feel the injury to health in hurrying to gratify my yearnings to meet friends. Will you say to your honored Mother[6] how sincerely I regret to defer going to her, offer my affectionate greetings to herself & to Mrs Wann[7]. I trust to hearing particularly of your home circle when you & I meet face to face at No. 202 West 14th St

Believe me always your attached friend

Anna M Whistler.

Now it just strikes me perhaps Mr Gamble may meet me Pier No. 1 Battery on the arrival of the 10 oclock line Friday! as his Staten Island ferry is so close by! but do not, unless you have leisure to wait. I shall send my small travelling box by city Express to Mr Jaffrays home & follow by a 14th St omnibus - very comfortably.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  1857
Dated with reference to the Perpetual Calender Whitaker's Almanac, and AMW's visit to New York on 30 March 1857; see AMW to JW, 27 April 1857, #06483.

2.  Anna Matilda Whistler
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more].

3.  James H. Gamble
James H. Gamble (b. 1820), clerk [more].

4.  433 Arch St Phila
Unidentified; 268 Arch Street, was the home address of William Darrach, physician, and relation of James Darrach (1828-1889), physician in Philadelphia, and friend of AMW; the latter lived at 347 Filbert Street, and later moved to 1120 Arch Street. See McElroy's Philadelphia City Directory for 1857, Philadelphia, 1857, p. 149; McElroy's Philadelphia City Directory for 1861, Philadelphia, p. 215.

5.  No. 202 West 14th St
202 West 14th Street, New York, was the home address of Richmond Woodriff Jaffray (1813-1862), merchant [more]; see Rode's New York City Directory, for 1852-3, New York, p. 267.

6.  Mother
Jane Gamble (1790-1864), mother of J. H. Gamble [more].

7.  Mrs Wann
Jane Wann (1822-1875), née Gamble, wife of S. Wann [more].