The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Whistler, Rose Fuller
Record 1 of 2

System Number: 06972
Date: 22 August 1887
Author: Rose Fuller Whistler[1]
Place: Sussex
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W961
Document Type: ALS

Ashburnham Vicarage

22. Augt: 1887

My dear Sir

I venture to beg your acceptance of a Pamphlet[2] relating to our Family, hoping that you may think it worth your notice. In my opinion I have the honour of being connected with you, through one of the children of [p. 2] my remote grandfather Hugh Whistler[3], Rector of Facomb, for I think it more than likely that at least one of his children went over to Ireland with their Uncle Ralph[4] or their Cousin Gabriel[5], and there founded the branch of the Family, which sent an offshoot to America.

If you [p. 3] can send me any particulars which may help to elucidate this I shall feel obliged to you.

Are your armorial bearings similar to our's?

With apologies for thus addressing you

I am, my dear Sir
Faithfully Your's

Rose Fuller Whistler

J. McNeill Whistler Eqr
&c: &c:

[p. 4, drawing of a man on a horse[6]]

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Rose Fuller Whistler
Rev. Rose Fuller Whistler (1825-1894), clergyman [more].

2.  Pamphlet
An account of the early history of the Whistler family (Whistler, Rose Fuller, Annals of an English Family, 1887; copy in GUL Whistler 194).

3.  Hugh Whistler
Hugh Whistler, Rector of Falcomb, Devon.

4.  Uncle Ralph
Ralph Whistler, a remote relative of the Whistlers.

5.  Cousin Gabriel
Gabriel Whistler, solicitor, uncle of T. L. Whistler, or Gabriel Whistler, grandfather of T. L. Whistler, served with the Irish Volunteers.

6.  drawing of a man on a horse
A tiny pen sketch, Man on a horse (M.1148).